Directorate of Water Resources Management

The Directorate of Water Resources Management (DWRM) is responsible for managing and developing the water resources of Uganda in an integrated and sustainable manner in order to provide water of adequate quantity and quality for all social and economic needs for the present and future generations. The Directorate comprises of four departments namely Department of Water Resources Monitoring and Assessment, Department of Water Resources Planning and Regulation, Department of Water Quality Management and Department of International Transboundary and Water Affairs.  DWRM was established in July 2007 after a restructuring exercise of the new Ministry of Water and Environment.

Challenge: gardens of sweet potatoes in Katonga catchement